Wedding and honeymoon

So, we have finally made it home and managed to get most things done so I thought I'd do a summary over the last two weeks.

The Wedding
Due to the extreme planning, everything was really calm the last few days before, apart from that Jamie's ring turned out to be too big but even that got sorted fairly easily. Even on the day of the Wedding I was complletely calm until just before 3pm when it was a bit short of time, but calmed down again just in time to get into the car and I realised: Oh shit. I have to read my vows in front of lots of people (and I hate to talk in front of people). When we got out of the car and got my dress sorted and the guitarrist started to play "All I want is you" (soundtrack from Juno) and my lovely bridesmaid and I started walking up to the temple I felt the biggest rush of happiness rushing over me and I could not stop shaking. Once I reached my spot next to Jamie he tried to say little things to calm me down which was very sweet, but to ask the question: Are you sure you still want to do this? was probably not the best thing to ask as I started to think that he'd changed his mind ;) Our registrar was excellent and it was a relaxed ceremony, the guitarrist played "Better together" by Jack Johnson (if anyone ever need an excellent performer, I can recommend Magnus!). When it was time for me to read my vows they blew out of my hand and I kind of crawled on the ground to get them back, but that was a nice little extra! I struggled hard not to cry and I took some very long pauses but managed to finish them and then Jamie said the most lovely words back to me. We walk out from the temple whilst "I'm yours" by Jason Mraz was played and the guests were blowing soap bubbles. After the ceremony we stayed and took some pictures. I still haven't seen them, but I am confident that Robban did an amazing job! After that we arrived at hotell Villan and had a welcome toast and my dad made a lovely speech and a bit of.. singing. Everyone seemed to enjoy it anyway! After that there was dinner, drinks, more awesome speeches by Stew, Martin and Steve. Then we were cutting the cake and Jamie wouldn't let me have any, no surprise there! After the cake we had the first dance to "The Girl" by City and Colour and the music was messing up a bit but worked out fine in the end!
We had amazing weather all day and the day was magical. A massive thank you to: Mia, Mike, Ida, Stew, Iona, Hamad, Robban, Magnus, Jamie, mum, dad, Steve, Helen, Hotell Villan and everyone else who I might have forgotten. Thank you everyone who came as well!

The UK
We spent a few days in the UK and mainly relaxed all week which was very nice so we could spend time with the family. On the 11th we had another Wedding party which was amazing, a very big thank you Helen and Steve who organised that! Was great to see so many friends there.

The Honeymoon
As you might know, we went to Venice and it was lovely, warm and sunny! Upon arrival the receptionist said: I can see you are here on your honeymoon, congratulations! With that she upgraded us to a suite and gave us free passes to the spa. I thought it was Stew who had told them but it turned out it was Jamie! Still surprises me... When we arrived to the room someone knocked on the door with a big bouquet of flowers that Jamie had ordered for me with gerberas that were im my wedding bouquet and lilies that are my favourites. About 5 mins later it knocks on the door again and a bottle of champagne and strawberries dipped in chocolates were delivered. Now, this time it was Stew, can't thank you enough. It was lovely! Then all of a sudden Jamie tells me to close my eyes and he gets something out of the bag which I open and it's a pair of diamond earrings that match my engagement ring. He was told my a colleague that you have to give eachother something the morning after the wedding as it's tradition, but I knew he wouldn't know about this so I didn't mention it, made me look like a right cheapskate...! They were lovely anyway. We saw lots of things in Venice, ate a lot of pizza, pasta, ice cream and tiramisu so I'm lucky I still fit into my clothes. Our hotel had a pool on the roof which was very nice as we had a couple of relaxing days as well.

That's about it. Happy to be home and I am now officially Mrs Watkins as the letter from the tax authorities came through. Thank you again everyone who made those last two weeks so amazing.


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress:

URL:

Kommentar:

Trackback